icon-toontrack-20tt-20-symbolicon-aiicon-arrangementsicon-arrow-left-1icon-arrow-left-2icon-arrow-left-3icon-arrow-right-1icon-arrow-right-2icon-arrow-right-3icon-automationicon-bleedicon-bounceicon-brushesicon-brushes2icon-campaign-pageicon-circlesClosedicon-cloudCommentsicon-cross-invicon-crossicon-cymbalicon-dislike-1icon-dislike-2Unread topicicon-downloaddrumsicon-drag-dropicon-drumkiticon-drums2icon-drumsticksicon-edrumsicon-electronicTopicicon-envelopeicon-fadersicon-faqForumForumTopic replyicon-futurehiticon-galaxyicon-grid-editoricon-headphonesicon-hihaticon-hot-topicicon-importsamplesicon-information-invicon-informationicon-joystickicon-kickicon-like-1icon-like-2Locked topicicon-macrosicon-massenburgAccountCartSearchicon-microphoneicon-midi-exporticon-midi-searchicon-midi-trackericon-midi-tracksicon-midiicon-mix-channelsicon-mixericon-news-inspirationicon-one-noteicon-percussionicon-percussion2Sticky topicicon-play-1-invicon-play-1icon-play-2-invicon-play-2icon-play-3icon-plus-invicon-plusicon-presetsPrivate topicicon-rawicon-reverseanythingicon-samplesicon-save-drumicon-seamlessicon-settingsicon-shapesicon-snareicon-song-tracksicon-ssdicon-stackicon-tap2findicon-tempoicon-third-partyicon-three-notesicon-tomTopic with best answericon-two-notesicon-usericon-videoicon-workflow

SD 3, Library Location, Updates and SDX, EZX Installations

Product Manager
Viewing 14 replies - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • JohnJohn
    Moderator

    Hi,

    what you should have started with, is moving the ‘EZdrummer’ folder in the only way supported, please see this FAQ:
    https://www.toontrack.com/faq/how-do-i-move-the-sounds-for-ezdrummer-2/

    This requires EZdrummer 2 to be installed first but by doing it this way, your subsequent installs of EZX:s and Toontrack MIDI will install correctly to your external drive and the Product Manager will read all products correctly. As will SD3.

    The SDX libraries can be linked to manually, as you have discovered.

    BR,
    John

    John Rammelt - Toontrack
    Technical Advisor

    JohnJohn
    Moderator

    Hmmm… I just realised you wrote you hadn’t installed EZdrummer 2 on a fresh system.
    You weren’t able to Edit the path to EZdrummer EZX:s and Toontrack MIDI at the bottom of the Settings > Libraries page in SD3?

    BR,
    John

    John Rammelt - Toontrack
    Technical Advisor

    wphall
    Participant

    Howdy John- Thanks for the help.

    Yes, you’re correct. I haven’t installed EZD2. And sorry, I forgot to mention that I did indeed change the SDX settings within SD3.

    BUT… I accidentally restarted my machine this morning and then launched Product Manager. Now, PM is showing that I don’t have any updates to install (strange). I had the update installers downloaded from last night so I launched them. Now it is showing the correct path in the installer. I guess do to the restart. When I went to bed last night, this was definitely not the case. The installers performed just fine.

    So I guess this means its working ok? I’ll keep bumping around with it by installing the SDXs and see what happens.

    Thanks!
    – Bill

    2015 MacBook Pro: 16/512ssd, EZ2, SD2, SD3

    JohnJohn
    Moderator

    If you see all your expansions and Toontrack MIDI in SD3 and PM is displaying things correctly, it’s working.

    BR,
    John

    John Rammelt - Toontrack
    Technical Advisor

    wphall
    Participant

    Hey- Sorry for the delay…. kids and family got in the way of my drum time.

    Everything appears except for the default EZ2 kit. Not a huge deal.

    But, since everything is now up and running, I’m having brutal audio cutting/choppiness. Done zero troubleshooting. Only mentioned it in case you’ve seen this in the stand alone (not in a DAW) product. I quickly ran SD2 in Garageband for comparison (ok, so I’ve done very minimal troubleshooting) and there was no audio interruptions. Not sure why yet. Let me if there’s low hanging fruit I can look for.

    Thx!

    2015 MacBook Pro: 16/512ssd, EZ2, SD2, SD3

    JohnJohn
    Moderator

    Hi,

    the EZdrummer 2 Modern/Vintage kits are installed when you run the full EZdrummer 2 installer.

    Audio cuts etc. can be due to too low Buffer size settings in your Settings > Audio/MIDI Setup > Audio Device > Buffer Size

    BR,
    John

    John Rammelt - Toontrack
    Technical Advisor

    wphall
    Participant

    Thanks John. I’ll play with it. Its an i7 2015 MBP 16/512 with external audio interface so upping the buffer should be fine.

    Thanks. Will report back when I can finally get behind the kit.

    BTW- SD 3 is overwhelmingly amazing. Killer job!
    – Bill

    2015 MacBook Pro: 16/512ssd, EZ2, SD2, SD3

    wphall
    Participant

    Hey John- Finally had a chance to sit down and really dig in.

    I’m definitely getting consistent audio jitter when playing “live”.

    Setup:
    – 2015 13″ MBP 3.1Ghz i7 16BG/512 10.13.4 – This machine was just wiped with a fresh install of OS X with very little added besides SD3
    – Plantronics USB to Audio (just a basic USB to Audio Out Interface- Maybe this is the problem)
    – Roland UM-ONE USB Midi interface
    – Roland TD12 kit with various Roland Cymbal and Pad upgrades- Just a 5 piece kit with 3 cymbals and 1 single kick pedal (no crazy quad pumping)
    – I’m playing the kit “live” through the TD-12
    – Fresh and full install of SD3
    – Sound libraries on External Samsung USB 3 SSD – This drive is only used to hold the SD3 sound library

    Symptom:
    – When playing “hard and fast” audio gets very jittery on a pretty consistent basis.
    – Processor utilization hangs around 60% when playing “normal” and 88%-92% when playing at a faster rate with more fills – seems to get worse with lots of cymbals(?)

    Other Info:
    – I’ve played with the Buffer up to 1024. 1024 creates too much latency. Not sure I’m noticing much difference in jitter. Maybe less with 1024 but latency is way too high.
    – Changing Buffer doesn’t seem to impact the processor utilization a whole lot.

    Any thoughts, and any other info I can help with?

    Thanks John.
    – Bill

    PS: Do you want me to move this to a different thread since its off topic? Thx.

    2015 MacBook Pro: 16/512ssd, EZ2, SD2, SD3

    JohnJohn
    Moderator

    Hi Bill,

    I also have an i7 Macbook Pro, though it’s the 15″ Retina), but I have not experienced that kind of CPU stress when running standalone.
    I have used Mbox Pro 3 and a KORG padKONTROL as MIDI interfaces with Mbox Pro 3 and UA Apollo Twin MkII as Audio interfaces and have been able to set Buffer to 64 samples with no problems.
    If you go into your Mac’s Audio/MIDI Setup and check the sample rate for your Plantronics Device, what is it set to?
    Preferably, you should have an ASIO Audio Interface.

    BR,
    John

    John Rammelt - Toontrack
    Technical Advisor

    wphall
    Participant

    Hey John- Sorry for the delay. I had to do a bunch of travel and just finally got behind the kit last night (sad).

    No clue why, but I sat down last night and banged away. No problems. No clue why as I “didn’t” change anything from the previous settings. Worked fine.

    If this changes, I’ll probably open a different thread in the right section. But its working great.

    Thx!
    – Bill

    2015 MacBook Pro: 16/512ssd, EZ2, SD2, SD3

    JohnJohn
    Moderator

    Did you perhaps update your OS to 10.13.5?

    John Rammelt - Toontrack
    Technical Advisor

    wphall
    Participant

    Howdy John- I have not (still on 10.13.4). Is this a question to search for why it’s working or a question of caution against updating? Laugh

    THx!

    2015 MacBook Pro: 16/512ssd, EZ2, SD2, SD3

    JohnJohn
    Moderator

    Well, personally I updated to 10.13.4 and got worse performance out of my MBP but I’m a Pro Tools user, so this may not apply. It got better again when I updated to 10.13.5, that’s why I asked.

    BR,
    John

    John Rammelt - Toontrack
    Technical Advisor

    Amps
    Participant

    My library failed to install properly on superior drummer 3. Can t seem to find d it.

Viewing 14 replies - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
×