Four amazing deals,
this weekend only!

Four amazing deals, this weekend only!*

Four amazing deals, this weekend only!*

Snare EQ Tips (EVERYONE, not just Toontrack)

Requests and Feedback
Viewing 5 replies - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • andrushkiwt
    Participant

@olliepudge said:
    Hi All,

I’m looking for some tips/ideas on how to properly EQ a snare drum. First of all, I’m not new to this. I’ve been playing drums and recording them for years, but I’m not an expert. I’m just interested in what my fellow drummers out there do with this. I like a snare that has a deep sound, but also has that crack to it. I know that isn’t much to give you to work with, so I guess the best example of the snare sound I’m looking for would be Abe Cunningham’s from the Deftones. Just an example. I’d love some feedback on this. Thanks!  

You’d be better off selecting a snare that is as close to what you want from the beginning. EQ’ing something to death is not going to give a pleasant sound – you can’t really take a different sounding snare, apply EQ, then have it sound like the snare you want. It will sound like a different snare, sure, but probably not what you’re looking for. The best way to get a snare sound is to use that snare.

That being said, there is no one single way to EQ a snare. If it is missing lows, you can add some, if it has too much of it, you can take it out.

Still, finding out which snare he uses, then searching out SD’s massive libraries and options available, will give you the best possible result.

https://soundcloud.com/andrushkiwt

olliepudge
    Participant

@andrushkiwt said: